News

 

Coming in March 2007

from

Lyons Press

 

The Greatest Generation meets The Perfect Storm . . .

In the final year of the Second World War, as the United States Navy and the Japanese fleet collided in the largest sea battle in human history, none could foresee that just a few weeks later America's fleet would be fighting another foe for its very survival: the Pacific Ocean itself.

At the Battle of Leyte Gulf in the Philippine Islands, the Imperial Japanese Navy unleashed a new weapon of desperation in an effort to stave off defeat: the kamikaze suicide squadrons. Admiral Bull Halsey, the toughest fighting man in the American navy, had his hands full combating the deadly new threat. His reputation clouded by his decisions at Leyte, Halsey focused all of his attention on destroying kamikaze air bases in the Philippines. Meanwhile, in the wastes of the Pacific, a tropical storm was forming and slowly gaining power, unseen, untracked, unsuspected.

Sea Cobra tells the dramatic story of the ships and men of the famed Fast Carrier Task Force as fate lands them squarely in the path of a killer typhoon. Relying on interviews with survivors and sailors' first-hand accounts, seasoned author Buckner F. Melton, Jr. tells the story of a modern fleet encountering one of the most destructive forces of nature. As bomb- and gasoline-laden aircraft carriers-and destroyers critically low on fuel-are overtaken by towering waves and hundred-plus knot winds, the fleet struggles no longer for victory but instead simple existence. And on one small group of destroyers with major stability problems, the storm will push equipment and men to the brink of disaster.

In the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Herman Wouk comes a gripping, real-life story of men versus the sea-and men versus the typhoon named Cobra.

Read all of these books from Buckner F. Melton, Jr.:

 

This page was last updated 8 February, 2007

Menu

Home

Biography

What's New

Speaking appearances

Contact